Revival

This blog and the next one are two Bible studies I did a long time ago, and recently dug up. I like them. Though I’d share them with you. Don’t worry, my next blog will be different, lol. Hope I don’t bore y’all too much. ;)

—–

II Chronicles 7:11-13 — Here God is speaking to Solomon in a dream just after the dedication of the new temple. He says that if ever something happens to His people, they need only to do as He says in verse 14:
“…if My people, who are called by My name, will humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”
vv.15-22 — He says that He will always hear the prayers of His people and that He has chosen and consecrated this temple that His name may be there forever. He then goes onto tell Solomon that if he follows God, his kingdom shall prosper and last.. But, is warned that if he disobeys, and worships other gods, (as America has done!), God will leave the temple and bring ridicule upon the Israelites.

The message of this verse (and even its context, as shown above) is that of revival and it tells us how revival can be accomplished.

“…if My people, who are called by My name…” Revival can only be brought about by believers. Yes, revival can bring new souls into God’s kingdom, but can only be brought about by the Holy Spirit through those who already believe.
“…will humble themselves…” How can people filled with pride truly seek revival? See, the very reason and purpose of revival is to ask God for His hand to come down and His presence to fill the people and place. How can this be accomplished when people think they are better than God? Or even just other people or circumstances?
“…and pray…” We must communicate our desire for revival to God. We must repent and pray for revival. Otherwise it cannot be done!
“…and seek My face…” If we are not actively seeking God and His purpose and will; if we are not reading His Word and praying to Him; if we are not searching for Him, how dare we even consider asking Him for revival?
“…and turn from their wicked ways…” We cannot be living in sin and have revival at the same time. It just won’t work! i.e. For our nation to have revival, we must repent and renounce such transgressions as sexual immorality, abortion, murder, theft, cussing, blasphemy, among many many others. For the Holy Spirit to come and fill us and our land, or state, or town, or church, or even household or ourself, we cannot be living in sin or supportive of those who are.
“…then I will hear from heaven…” Yes! God really can hear us, and He will if we do these things. And believe me, He wants to!
“…and forgive their sin…” He will forget them completely and utterly. They will be thrown as far as the east is from the west. They will haunt us no more.
“…and heal their land [or house, or life, or town, or church, etc.].” We will be healed! Revival can and will come if only we who are called only do as He asks: humble ourselves, pray, seek His face, and turn from our wicked ways. Then He will come like a flood, the fire of the Holy Spirit filling us with a passion for Him and His will. He will heal our hurts, protect us from further harm, and give us the strength to follow Him!

Individually, to bring about revival, we need to come to God and begin to apply the four steps for revival found in this passage. A personal application may look like this:

I must work on these 4 things:
1) Humbling myself before God. Admitting that I cannot do this myself. That I need Him. That without Him, I can do nothing! He is God, my Rock, Lord of My life, my Redeemer
2) Pray. Pray for revival, forgiveness, strength, wisdom, and for His Holy Spirit.
3) See His face. I must realize that He is the only thing I need, that is worth living for. Nothing else. Read His Word, pray, live for Him and Him alone!
4) Turn from my wicked ways. I must repent and renounce my sins. Stop them all. They cannot be present in my life along with God’s Spirit.

Now, when I originally did this little study, I asked a few questions: (1) How can we bring enough believers together to bring revival to our nation? Our state? Our town? Our church even? (2) The big question is, am I ready, willing, and able to do these 4 steps? Then I realized, I need only concern myself with the second one. Because that is the only one I can affect. It’s up to me and me along to make the decision of commitment. However, only God can accomplish the first. Only He can bring together the right people into the right circumstances, allowing revival to take place. And, if I (and the rest of us as well) apply myself to taking this passage to heart, then God can and will begin to do this. Question is, what are you going to do about it?

Leave a Reply

