“A Pilgrim’s Search”

“A Pilgrim’s Search”
by Anthony
11DEC06

I walk this lonely road;
Alone and beat, I go alone.
My burden weighs me down…
To guide me? My heart of stone.

“He did evil because he had not set his heart on seeking the LORD.” (II Chronicals 12:14)

A pilgrim in life,
That is what I am.
A wandering searcher,
Belonging to no clan.

“My tears have been my food
day and night,
while men say to me all day long,
‘Where is your God?’ ” (Psalms 42:3)

But within myself:
Even to my inermost…
The strength to make it?
To my failure do I toast.

” ‘apart from Me you can do nothing.’ ” (John 15:5b)

I keep walking this lonely road,
Ever searching for some truth.
Behind me lies broken dreams.
For which I fought nail and tooth.

“I despise my life; I would not live forever.
Let me alone; my days have no meaning.” (Job 7:16)

It gets to me, life beats me down
This is my sorrow: my pain

” ‘Yet if I speak, my pain is not relieved;
and if I refrain, it does not go away.’ ” (Job 16:6)

For some reason I feel
Ever drawn to that hill.
“He saves,” they say…
“The void will He fill.”

” ‘I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.’ ” (Mark 2:17b)

Who is this Man, Who bore a cross,
Who died a criminal’s death?
It’s said He loves me and wants me whole:
Was the reason for His ev’ry breath.

” ‘Father, forgive them, for hey do not know what they are doing…’ ‘I tell you the truth, today you will be with Me in paradise.’ ” (Luke 23:34b, 43b)

So I approach the hill,
Stand at the foot of the Cross.
I’ll give Him my burden, my all:
To count it but a loss.

“But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ…” (Phillipians 3:7-8)

Life still hurts, and beats me down:
My burden for His cross I traded.
And beside me He walks, His own cross bearing.
So with Him I’ll stay, til all has faded.

” ‘If anyone would come after Me, he must deny himself, take up his cross daily and follow Me.’ ” (Luke 9:23b) “Carrying his own cross…” (John 18:17a)

Peace I have, belonging I found
This is my joy: my life

“You became imitators of us and of the Lord; in spite of severe suffering, you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit.” (I Thesselonian 1:6)

all scripture taken from the NIV

Leave a Reply

