“But Lord…”

I hate the word “but.” Why? Cause it cancels out everything that you said before it. “I like you, but…” Ah, guess you don’t like him, eh? “I really want to help you, but…” Yep, you really do want to help her, eh? “I’d love to stay and chat, but…” No, you just want to get out of there as fast as you can, don’t you?

I won’t disclose why the word is on my mind, as that is a private matter and struggle. However, I’ll useit to talk about another matter that is close to me, and which the word “but” comes up a lot with me…

“If anyone would come after Me, he must deny himself, take up his cross daily, and follow Me.” (Luke 9:23 NIV)

Christ’s call to us as those He loves. And what is our response?

“If anyone would come after Me…”
“But Lord, it is so hard, and I’d like to go do this and this and this…”

“…he must deny himself…”
“But Lord, I really do like this chocolate cake…But Lord, just one more? It will be my last, I promise…But Lord, why would you want me to give up something that feels so good?”

“…take up his cross…”
“But Lord, can’t you take this responsibility away? I’m not good at it…I’d rather go do this…This person is quite annoying, why have you stuck me with him/her?”

“…daily…”
“But Lord, taking this day off won’t hurt too much…I follow you every day of the week, go to church, and do all the right things. I know you’ll forgive this slip I’m going to make.”

“…and follow Me.”
“But Lord, can’t I follow You and [insert personal struggle/idol here]? What’s the harm? I’m still forgiven and saved. I’ll go to heaven. Isn’t that what matters?”

This attitude will result in you eventually saying, ” ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name drive out demons and perform miracles?’ ”

Want to know what is in store for you? Probably not, but I’m going to be intolerant and tell yoiu anyways: ” ‘I never knew you. Away from Me, you evildoers!’ “…”Then they will go away to eternal punishment…” (Matt. 7:22-23, 25:46 NIV)

Might want to rid yourself of them excuses, eh? I know I do. Very much so. I’d rather here Him say “Well done good and faithful servant.” Ya. Much better…

Lord, help me rid myself of these excuses that riddle my life. I say them sometimes without even realizing what I am saying. I want to follow you wholeheartedly, but part of me is holding me back. And I want to remove it. But I haven’t the strength…

God Bless,
Peregrinus.

One response to ““But Lord…”

Leave a Reply

